Short answer: BankingLens, which publishes this page, makes one of the six paid tools compared here. If one bank at a time is enough, the FFIEC's Central Data Repository publishes call reports and UBPRs free. BankRegReports suits an analyst who wants long history and an API, with a free tier and a published Pro price. BankRegData suits a team that wants deep history and alerts and is comfortable asking for a quote. Visbanking suits an institution that wants credit union data and prospect contacts on one license with unlimited users. OptimaFI Call Report Insights, formerly QwickAnalytics, suits a bank whose board and ALCO packages are built in Excel. FedFis suits a buyer whose first question is which technology vendors a bank or credit union uses. BankingLens suits someone who wants banks ranked in their FFIEC peer groups on a monthly plan starting at $29 and can work with 4 or 9 quarters of history.
Because one of these tools is ours, everything said here about another company comes from that company's own website as it read on September 16, 2026, with a link to the page. Where a site doesn't say something, we write "not stated" rather than guess, and the BankingLens section lists our gaps.
The six paid tools side by side
Three of the six publish no price at all, and the others can change theirs, so treat the price column as a snapshot.
| Tool | Built for | Published price | History | Credit unions | Free option |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BankRegReports | Bank financial data, peer rankings and an API | Free tier; Pro $50 a month or $500 a year | 25 years | Yes, NCUA 5300 data | Free tier |
| BankRegData | Bankers, board members, regulators and consultants | Not published | CSV export quarters from 2003 | Not stated | Two-week trial |
| Visbanking | Performance benchmarking, plus Prospect and Talent apps | Pricing page lists $10,000 for an annual enterprise-wide license | 10+ years | Yes, NCUA 5300 data | No free tier named; guided demos and pilots |
| OptimaFI Call Report Insights | Benchmarking against 4,000+ peers, Excel add-in, board and examiner exports | Not published | Four-year trend analysis | Some features, such as CECLSolver | Not stated |
| FedFis | Technology vendor data for banks, credit unions and fintechs | Not published | 40 quarters | Yes | Not stated |
| BankingLens (ours) | Every bank ranked in its FFIEC peer group | Starter $29 a month; Pro $99 a month; Enterprise by quote | 4 quarters (Starter) or 9 quarters (Pro) | Deposit market share only, as a Beta preview | No trial; public sample scorecard |
Source: each company's public website, read September 16, 2026. Links to the exact pages are in each tool's section below. "Not stated" means we didn't find it on the pages we read, not that the tool lacks it.
Start with the free sources
The FFIEC's Central Data Repository publishes call reports and UBPRs for most FDIC-insured institutions at no charge, with UBPR data back to December 2002. Its bulk download page offers call report files in tab-delimited or XBRL format, and UBPR files in four-period sets.
For peer work, the FFIEC's free custom peer group report is the place to start. You enter banks by ID RSSD number or find them through its search, and it recomputes the UBPR's peer statistics for that group, laid out in the UBPR page format.
On the FDIC side, the BankFind Suite API returns institution, financial, Summary of Deposits, history, failure and location data as JSON or CSV. BankFind also has free market share reports built from the Summary of Deposits.
In our judgment the free route costs time rather than money, and it costs it in four places. Bulk files arrive with raw regulator field codes instead of plain labels. The CDR screens show one bank at a time. Any view across many banks or many quarters means joining files yourself, and any peer comparison the UBPR doesn't already lay out gets built by hand. An analyst who writes SQL can live with that. A CFO assembling a board package the week it's due usually can't.
BankRegReports
Of the six paid tools, BankRegReports is the only one we found with a free tier. Its pricing page lists free access to 4,297 banks with 25 years of data, peer rankings and 200 API calls a day, without Excel exports or custom peers. Pro adds custom peers, Excel tearsheets and 10,000 API calls a day for $50 a month or $500 a year, and the homepage lists NCUA 5300 credit union data too.
Its Pro plan costs less than our Pro plan, holds far more history, and includes custom peers and an API, which our self-serve plans don't. For an analyst who wants ratios flowing into a model rather than sitting on a screen, that combination is hard to beat at a published price.
Before buying, ask how the default peer rankings group banks, because that choice decides who your bank is measured against. Ask too whether the credit union data sits in the same peer tools as the bank data.
BankRegData
BankRegData tracks over 525 metrics, each in 12-quarter, 40-quarter and 12-year views. Banks are compared against three default peer groups or custom peer sets, and alerts run through what it calls the Sentry Event Engine and Threshold Alerts.
History is its strength. The export page offers every metric as CSV with quarters from 2003 to 2026, which takes in a full credit cycle. Its about page says branch detail comes from the June 30 Summary of Deposits and cites 1,325 clients and 11,500 users. For a long trend or for alerts, it does things we don't.
Pricing isn't published, so the first questions are the price and how many users it covers. The main page doesn't define the three default peer groups; ask what they are. We didn't find credit unions, an API or a deposit market share tool on the pages we read, so ask if you need them. The free trial page describes two weeks with the same access clients get, possibly with limits on exports, and expects a business email address.
Visbanking
Visbanking sells three apps: Performance, which benchmarks against 4,600+ institutions with 10+ years of data; Prospect, for decision-maker contacts; and Talent. Its homepage names FDIC call reports, FFIEC and UBPR data, and NCUA 5300 credit union data as sources and mentions secure APIs, and its FAQ adds CSV and Excel output, guided demos and pilots.
The pricing page lists $10,000 for an annual enterprise-wide license with unlimited users, and shows no date. The FAQ says pricing depends on use case and team size, so get your figure in writing.
Credit union financial data and prospect contacts are two things we don't offer, and an unlimited-user license changes the arithmetic for a finance team where several people need access.
Before buying, ask which of the three apps the listed license includes. Ask too how Performance defines a bank's peers and how far back its history runs for the ratios you use most.
OptimaFI Call Report Insights (formerly QwickAnalytics)
The old address, qwickanalytics.com, now redirects to OptimaFI, and OptimaFI's Call Report Insights page says QwickAnalytics "is now part of OptimaFI". OptimaFI was formed when Infusion Marketing Group, QwickRate and IntelliCredit combined, according to a January 15, 2026 announcement.
Call Report Insights benchmarks a bank against 4,000+ peers, with custom peer groups, a four-year trend analysis, an Excel add-in and exports for board, ALCO and examiner reporting. OptimaFI also offers CECL and stress-testing tools, and the same page says community credit unions can use some features, such as CECLSolver.
The Excel add-in is the reason to look. If your ALCO package and board deck are built in spreadsheets, pulling peer ratios straight into Excel matters more than another dashboard, and neither of our self-serve plans has an add-in. Getting CECL and stress-testing tools from the same vendor keeps more of that work in one place.
Pricing and trial terms weren't on the pages we read, so ask for both. Ask how its default peer comparisons are drawn, and whether the add-in and the CECL tools are priced with Call Report Insights or separately. We didn't find UBPR ratios, deposit market share or an API mentioned.
FedFis
FedFis is a different kind of product. It pitches itself to banks, credit unions and fintechs, and its emphasis is data on which technology vendors financial institutions use, core processors included. Its homepage also lists U.S. bank and credit union financial data: 5,000+ financial items and 40 quarters of data, updated quarterly, plus branch and M&A data.
For a vendor selling into banks, or a bank that wants to know what its peers run on, the technology data is the reason to call. It also covers credit unions and carries far more history than our plans.
The homepage doesn't state how peers are defined, whether UBPR ratios are included, or whether there's deposit market share by geography or a trial, and pricing isn't published. If peer benchmarking is the main job, ask to see that part specifically.
BankingLens (our product)
Our pricing page lists two self-serve plans for Bank Peer Intel. Starter is $29 a month for banks in your state and adjacent states, with 4 quarters of history, peer-benchmarked scorecards, percentile rankings, ratio trends and a 5-bank watchlist. Pro is $99 a month for all US banks (4,296 as of the Q2 2026 filing), with 9 quarters of history, CSV export and a 50-bank watchlist. Enterprise is a custom quote. Both self-serve plans run month to month, and you cancel from your account dashboard.
Every bank is ranked within its FFIEC peer group, so a percentile is measured against the FFIEC's grouping rather than one we drew. Each scorecard also carries a plain-English summary of what the filing says and the call report line by line, balance sheet and income statement. Deposit market share by county comes from the FDIC Summary of Deposits, with credit unions included as a Beta preview, and mortgage lending (HMDA) and CRA data are in Beta preview as well. There's no free trial. The sample scorecard for Frost Bank is public, needs no sign-up, and stands in for one.
The gaps are plain. History is 4 or 9 quarters, much shorter than most tools on this page, so neither plan can show a ten-year trend. Credit unions are not in the peer benchmarks. Neither self-serve plan has an API or an Excel add-in, each is for one user, and both rank banks only within their FFIEC peer groups, with no custom peer lists. If any of those is a requirement, one of the tools above fits better.
How to choose
Six questions settle most of the decision; answer them before the first demo.
- How much history do you need? A trend across a credit cycle takes years. BankRegData, BankRegReports, FedFis and Visbanking all list far more history than our 4 or 9 quarters, and OptimaFI describes a four-year trend analysis.
- Do credit unions matter? If they compete with you for deposits or loans, Visbanking, BankRegReports and FedFis list credit union data, and OptimaFI says community credit unions can use some of its features. We include credit unions only in deposit market share, as a Beta preview, and we didn't find them on BankRegData's pages.
- Who picks the peers? A board that wants a named peer list can get one from BankRegData, BankRegReports Pro or OptimaFI, or free from the FFIEC's custom peer group report. Our self-serve plans rank every bank within its FFIEC peer group and don't take custom lists.
- Where does the data need to go? BankRegReports has an API on both tiers, Visbanking's FAQ mentions CSV, Excel and APIs, OptimaFI has its Excel add-in, and BankRegData exports every metric as CSV. Our Pro plan exports CSV, and neither of our self-serve plans has an API.
- What does the board package need? OptimaFI offers exports for board, ALCO and examiner reporting, and BankRegReports Pro produces Excel tearsheets. Our scorecards pair peer percentiles with a plain-English summary of the filing.
- How many people need access, and what can you spend? Visbanking's pricing page lists unlimited users on one annual license. BankRegReports and BankingLens also publish prices; BankRegData, OptimaFI and FedFis don't, so leave time for a quote.
Whichever tools make the shortlist, ours included, look up your own bank and compare a few ratios with your latest UBPR before you commit. You'll see how each vendor defines them, which is better learned before a board meeting than during one.
Frequently asked questions
What is a good alternative to BankRegData?
The right substitute depends on which part of BankRegData you rely on. For long history and an API at a published price, BankRegReports lists a free tier and a Pro plan at $50 a month or $500 a year. For credit union data and unlimited users, the Visbanking pricing page lists a $10,000 annual enterprise-wide license. For board and ALCO work built in Excel, OptimaFI Call Report Insights has an Excel add-in. BankingLens starts at $29 a month and ranks each bank in its FFIEC peer group, with much shorter history.
How much does Visbanking cost?
Visbanking's pricing page lists $10,000 for an annual enterprise-wide license with unlimited users. Its FAQ says pricing depends on use case and team size, so ask for a written quote for your institution.
What happened to QwickAnalytics?
OptimaFI's Call Report Insights page says QwickAnalytics is now part of OptimaFI, and qwickanalytics.com redirects to OptimaFI's website. OptimaFI was formed when Infusion Marketing Group, QwickRate and IntelliCredit combined, in an announcement dated January 15, 2026. The call report benchmarking tool is now called OptimaFI Call Report Insights.
Is there a free way to compare a bank with its peers?
Yes. The FFIEC's Central Data Repository publishes call reports and UBPRs free, and the FFIEC's custom peer group report recomputes UBPR peer statistics for banks you choose. The FDIC's BankFind Suite adds an API and free market share reports from the Summary of Deposits. In our judgment the cost is time: joining files and building comparisons across many banks by hand.
How much does BankingLens cost?
Starter is $29 a month and covers banks in your state and adjacent states with 4 quarters of history. Pro is $99 a month for all US banks, with 9 quarters of history and CSV export. Enterprise is a custom quote. There is no free trial, but the sample scorecard for Frost Bank is public and needs no sign-up.
How this comparison was put together
We read each company's public website on September 16, 2026, and didn't start trials or talk to sales teams, so nothing a company tells buyers privately is reflected here. Where a website has changed since, the website is right. You can see our side of the table on the sample scorecard for Frost Bank, with every ratio ranked against its FFIEC peer group. Plans that cover your state or every bank start at $29 a month (pricing).